Web Overload

Filtering the World of Information and Web-Technology for Those in Need in Ministry

(Mostly) Wordless Ministry Updates

A friend of mine uses a ministry update technique that has proven to be quite effective.   I don’t say that because of stats or feedback – I have no idea the feedback he gets.  I say that as a reader and supporter.  His audience.  And since your goal is to speak effectively to your audience, I thought I’d share what he does.

Each week … like clockwork … he sends out a one page update via email attachment.  (Yes, I know I just promoted blogging but you can use the same technique there if desired.)  The body of his email usually contains one paragraph, sometimes less, of either a Scripture verse, something God is teaching him or a quick summary of the attachment.  And the attachment contains only pictures.  Any text is usually an overlay, not the primary communication.

I paused the first time I received one; I think it might have been the fact that he only wrote one line in the email so it was unexpected :).  My very next thought, though, was, “Well, you know, that’s kind of cool.”   The next week I got the same thing.  I paused again because I assumed the other was an exception but the process and – undoubtedly – the consistency has made me a fan of the technique and has also made me feel very up-to-date and even connected to what is happening. You might be thinking “big deal” or “too easy” … or “how ugly” depending on the mental picture you just created.  What I need to explain is the way he does the pictures.  So with his permission, I’ve posted a few examples above.

Let me be clear that I’m not suggesting you should switch to this method exclusively.   [He has added other communication venues and adjusts his emails from time to time.]  I’m simply throwing it out as a tool you may want to put in your arsenal.   It’s something different and may provide some freshness to your communications.  Let me repeat, though, that consistency is the key as it’s the conglomeration of the pictures that gives me a story line.  Consistency is the key to any update and sense of connection. I get that. But particularly with this approach, I think it’s important.

So give it a try sometime.  See what you – and your supporters – think and let us know.  And if you’re worried you don’t know how to do this, write me and I’ll see if I can help.

And do check out the work God is doing via this ministry. David makes me tired regularly with his updates.  An amazing couple and an amazing work … one for which I KNOW David would take no credit, but would take your prayers.  http://www.cambodiacrossroads.org/
Digg!

Filed under: Your Ministry Updates, ,

Leave a comment