Web Overload

Filtering the World of Information and Web-Technology for Those in Need in Ministry

YouVersion.com – Online and Mobile Bible Reader

Like many others, I’ve been checking out YouVersion.com. Ok – so I’ve been mostly checking out the BlackBerry edition, but that’s just detail.

I like it.  I like it well enough to mention it on this site.  Both the online and mobile versions are easy to use (good interface) and have nice search features to get you to either a specific passage or book.  Maneuvering between passages/books is easy too.  I used it in church Sunday and while I was a little slower bouncing back and forth than with good, old fashioned page-turning, the delay wasn’t much.  And I suspect more use would make it pretty even.

Bible Shot

The online version has a nice Parallel feature that auto syncs when you change passages.  If you prefer to look at two different passages (either in different or similar versions), just click “unsync” and you’re there.  It also has a one-click option to increase or decrease the font size making it even more friendly for many readers.

What impressed me most initially, esp on my BB, was simply the number of Bible versions available.  I don’t personally use a lot of versions except for occasional reference and some “versions” I just can’t stand at all.  But I still had to be impressed with the options since that’s not always the case in software I check out.  I should also mention that a one-year Bible reading plan is included on the mobile editions and they did a nice job with presentation and accessibility here.  (BTW – mobile editions include BB, iPhone and a m.youversion.com for all other phones with internet access.)

I know that some of these features might be found in other online Bible readers, but the difference for me is the collection in a nice, clean and, again, easily maneuverable package.  While I know a clean look is a personal preference, I think you will find the simplicity easy on your eyes too.  I was impressed enough that I’ve recommended the BB edition to a couple of pastors I know.  We’ll see what they say.

PERSONAL JOURNAL

YouVersion offers the option to create an account (not required to use the features above) and doing so provides a journal feature where you can keep personal notes as well as bookmark passages.  These are kept online and would be accessible anywhere an internet connection is available if that’s helpful to you.  Of course, the downside is that if you don’t have an internet connection, you won’t have your notes either.  As opposed to the features I mention below, these notes are private and for your personal use only.  As with anything online, proceed at your own comfort level but I can see some potential uses here for many.

COMMUNITY

One other feature I’ll mention is “Community.”  YouVersion has a community section where readers can comment on passages (post contributions) and also share when they like the contribution of someone else.  Additionally, readers can view the “feed” section to see what’s being added and even “follow” someone as with Twitter.  You have to register to post but can view the feed without a login.

This feature is not the reason I recommend it.  It’s the reader that prompted the post so regardless of where you stand on the “Community” and “Journal” features, I encourage you to check out the reader and at minimum keep it in the back of your mind (and on a bookmark/favorite) as a tool.  I really do think you’ll find it one of the more accessible and useable readers out there.

Just my .02.

Filed under: Online tools, Resources, ,

Leave a comment