Web Overload

Filtering the World of Information and Web-Technology for Those in Need in Ministry

Windows 7 – Free for 13 Months?

Just read this article from ComputerWorld talking about the Windows 7 Release Candidate.  To keep things simple, let’s just define this as a preview of the upcoming new version of Windows.  The pattern is that Microsoft releases a series of “previews,” the last being this Release Candidate.  I give that background to make sure you know that what I’m about to share is potentially not what will be in stores later this year pending any bugs/adjustments/etc. that need made.

However, it’s pretty darn close and I wouldn’t be sharing if I thought you should be concerned.  So on with the news.

The reason I share this tidbit is because the release version will be open to the public to download on May 5.  And you, apparently, will be able to download an unlimited number of copies – yes, one for each machine.  And yes, they’ll be free.  But more on that in a minute.  First I share the following quote:

“You don’t need to rush to get Windows 7 RC,” the leaked page read in late March. “The RC release will be available at least through June 2009, and we’re not limiting the number of product keys, so you have plenty of time.”

THE CATCH? The word for now is that you’ll be able to use these free copies for 13 months, or until June 1, 2010.  But you do have to pay for the software by that time to keep using it.  (C’mon – you knew that was coming.)

Still… I mention this because I see some potential uses for the non-profit, smaller church, individual Christian worker segment.  Let me be clear:  this download will not be for everyone.

YOU MIGHT WANT TO CONSIDER THIS IF…

I would not have done a post like this with Vista as the news for it was not good from the beginning.  But Windows 7 seems to be different.  And I know so many people having problems with Vista that a pre-release version of Windows 7 is worth a shot in my opinion.  If you like it, you have 13 months to plan and save.  If not, go back to Vista and you’re no worse for the wear (except for time lost and I’m sorry about that.  Sometimes it’s worth the shot.)

Here are a few scenarios where I think it could be useful:

  • You know with certainty you’re going to upgrade anyway for whatever reason. Do it now and gain some time while you plan for the expenditure.  I’ll assume you’ve already started down the road of checking hardware and minimum requirements.  If not, check out this article on when to consider upgrading and this one on what you’ll need to do so.
  • You received a donated computer (and many orgs I work with do) and you need to install an OS on it anyway. As above, be sure to check the specs and make sure you meet speed and memory requirements.
  • You hate Vista or are having problems and want to try the new Windows free. Keep in mind you’ll want to confirm you have a Vista restore disk if you end up hatingWindows 7 more or have problems.

Oh – and do I need to mention that if you try a new OS, whether this one or one you purchase later down the road – PLEASE make sure you’ve backed up your data before installing.

So stay tuned and we’ll see what shakes out in the next few days.

Filed under: Software

Leave a comment