Web Overload

Filtering the World of Information and Web-Technology for Those in Need in Ministry

Purchasing From the Manufacturer

I’ve mentioned companies that can assist with your purchases and with the discounts for which you may qualify as a non-profit, particularly if you need to purchase software.  But I was reminded this week to not discount the help you may also receive directly from the manufacturer.  Admittedly, this probably applies more to hardware than software – and in fact, if your only need is software I’m probably still going to recommend using a third-party vendor such as CCB or Softmart.

However, I needed to purchase hardware for a church this week and in the end I worked directly with Dell.  They matched the price I had received from the 3rd party vendor and I even received a few extras I might not have known about or been able to receive outside of a Dell rep discount.  With tax, I paid a little more than the 3rd party company, but the extras made it worth it … AND … I was able to purchase under a return policy not available elsewhere.

Admittedly, I was purchasing a server so I was spending a decent sum of money with more to come.  If you’re only purchasing one computer and see no additional purchases in the foreseeable future, I cannot say what discounts and service may be offered.  I still think it’s worth checking.  For those of you who know you need to purchase several items over the next year or two (e.g., replacing old computers or adding new ones for new staff), I encourage you to try the manufacturer and ask to speak with small business sales.  With DELL, I’d even go ahead and set up an account (it simply requires contact information).  You will then have access to a personal rep and his/her team to assist with your needs (888-www-DELL).  This is a good first stop – the benchmark stop so to speak – to get advise regarding your needs and possible options to meet them.  Once you do that, it’s fair to shop around and price-compare.

Be fair and honest, though.  These folks make a living from your purchases like anyone else.  If you call to seek their time and advise, they need to truly be a player in your mind and not simply an avenue of information while your intent is to purchase elsewhere.

This week reminded me that even though I will often speak about 3rd party companies on this site, don’t discount the manufacturer.  These days, it’s easy to forget about this guy … much like forgetting in your trek through online brokers that the airlines still sell tickets too (and yes, I’ve sometimes found them cheaper via the airline).  Even if the quotes are the same price or a little bit higher, it can be worth it to start a relationship with the manufacturer, particularly if you tend to purchase one brand repeatedly.   You might be surprised what they’ll do for you; typically you’ll get a return on your money in one form or another.

And, hey, if you call and aren’t pleased, you still have the 3rd party folks.

Filed under: Making Purchases, ,

Leave a comment